Saturday, February 28, 2009

Rosary prayers

In order to pray the Rosary, you must first memorize the seven primary prayers of the Rosary and their "markers":

1. Sign of the Cross (Catholics begin and end all forms of prayer my making the Sign of the Cross)

2. Apostles' Creed (marked by the crucifix)

3. Our Father (marked by the isolated beads separated with longer chain links)

4. Hail Mary (marked by the 3 closely-spaced beads on the crucifix chain and the 10 closely-spaced beads on the circular part of the Rosary)

5. Glory Be or Gloria (marked by the longer chain links before the Our Father beads)

6. Fatima Prayer (same marking as the Glory Be)

7. Hail Holy Queen (marked by the central medal)

There are several more optional Rosary prayers, but I will cover these in a future post.

Find the text of the prayers above at the following links:

My ebook, The Rosary Workout, includes a more detailed Rosary tutorial:

1 comment:

Colleen said...

I'm at work but can't wait to look at your Rosary workout site - I love Mary and exercising!!